Easy way to load bulk data

Hadoop Eco System Forums Hadoop Discussion Forum Easy way to load bulk data

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 8 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Subramaniyabharathi Subramaniyabharathi 4 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Subramaniyabharathi
    Subramaniyabharathi
    Participant

Dear All,

Please Help me. I am new to Hadoop, HBase and Hive. But Presently, I am in a situation to load 34GB of data to hbase and query it. Is there any easy way to accomplish this.

#1655 Reply
    Profile photo of Siva
    Siva
    Keymaster

Hi, If you are using Hive 0.12 or later version then you can use HCatalog to create HBase table via HBaseHcatStorage Handler. Or if your hive version is older than 0.12, then go for HBase integration with Hive and then create a Hbase table via Hive shell and insert the records into Hive table.

For the procedure of loading data into Hbase table from Hive table please refer –> http://staging.hadooptutorial.info/hbase-integration-with-hive/
    but keep in mind that setting below property in hive will make inserting records into table faster, but this comes at the cost of data loss if any HBase failure occurs
    set hive.hbase.wal.enabled=false;

#1656 Reply
    Subramaniyabharathi
    Participant

Hi,
    Can you please elaborate the process of using HCatalog. Am using apache-hive-0.13.1. Because when I tried Hbase integration with hive which is explained in this website it takes lot of time to copy the file. I started at 11 am in the morning still it is copying. I am totally new to these environment. Please help me.

#1658 Reply
    Profile photo of Siva
    Siva
    Keymaster

You might have set below property in hive before inserting records into Hive table.

set hive.hbase.wal.enabled=false;

This will speed up insertion of records.